Interview: Folk Artist George Colin

George Colin is an 83 year old folk artist, known for his bright and colorful drawings. Many he does in chalk pastel on black paper. He recently illustrated a poem called ‘The Turtle’ by Vachel Lindsay which is now sold as a children’s book. His work has been shown around the country, including the Smithsonian. He and his wife own and run an art gallery where their home is, in Salisbury. Some of Colin’s art is currently on display at the Charles E. Becker Library on the Benedictine University campus in Springfield. Rachel Otwell recently spoke with Colin: 

CLICK HERE for more information about Colin’s exhibit of artwork at Benedictine University campus which runs until January 31st.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview: Folk Artist George Colin

  1. George and winney are wonderful people. Free spirits. I am always amazed what George comes up with. And the people who collect his art. Michael Jordan, opera, President Bush, Durbin, and many more.

  2. Deborah says:

    George has passed away. Winnie’s is in very bad health. She needs to sell George’s artwork. Please invest in his work.

    • Darlene says:

      I am so sorry to hear George passed away. I met him one time. My aunt and George were first cousins. I drove my aunt to Salisbury to see him. That was a very long time ago. Winnie and George were so nice. When we were leaving he told me I could pick out a couple of chalk paintings that were rolled up with fifty other ones. I picked two and they are hanging in my guest room. George made his mark on the world and I am happy that I have his paintings. His memory will live on thru his paintings.

Comment on this Story

